For law firms pricing an AI to answer the phone
AI receptionists for law firms: published prices side by side
Below, what each AI receptionist and answering service publishes for law firms: price, calls included, trial or sign-up, and who answers. Intake Gateway is $149 a month with every answered call included.
$149 a month, flat. First month free. Every answered call included. Cancel any time. About 8 hours of a receptionist’s pay (US median, BLS May 2025).
Call the number we give you from your own phone and hear the agent take an intake — up to 15 minutes of test calls, before you add a card. First month free: a 30-day free trial, every answered call included, one trial per firm. Card on file, nothing charged before day 31. No setup fee. Month to month.
Updated
Published prices and terms
Each competitor cell links to the vendor page it was read on, with the date. The table ranks no one.
| Service | Published price | Per-call or per-minute charges | Setup call | AI or human |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Smith.ai (AI Receptionist) | Free: $0 a month for 25 calls. Pro: $150 a month for 75 calls ($2.00 a call). Source, read Oct 2, 2026 | Per call: $3.00 a call past the free plan's 25; on paid plans, overage is charged per real call. Source, read Oct 2, 2026 | Self-serve sign-up on the Free and Pro plans; Enterprise is “Talk to us”. Source, read Oct 2, 2026 | AI first, with human-first and hybrid options. Source, read Oct 2, 2026 |
| Ruby | $250 a month for 50 minutes, $395 for 100, $720 for 200. Source, read Oct 2, 2026 | Per receptionist minute; minutes past the plan are billed at an overage rate these pages do not publish. Source, read Oct 2, 2026 | Self-serve: a Sign up button on each plan, with demos also offered; no fee for activation, onboarding or setup. Source, read Oct 2, 2026 | Live people. Source, read Oct 2, 2026 |
| Answering Legal | Not published on the page linked Source, read Oct 2, 2026 | Not published on the page linked Source, read Oct 2, 2026 | Not stated: the pages offer both “Try for free” and “Schedule a call”. Source, read Oct 2, 2026 | Not stated by the vendor on the pages read; a customer testimonial mentions “a live operator”. Source, read Oct 2, 2026 |
| LEX Reception | Not published on the page linked Source, read Oct 7, 2026 | Per minute, rounded up to the next minute; minutes past the plan are charged per minute, at a rate this page does not publish. Source, read Oct 2, 2026 | Not self-serve on its plans page: plans and prices come after a phone-number form (“See dedicated LEX plans”) or a call. Source, read Oct 7, 2026 | Live receptionists; it says it does “not use AI in answering phones”. Source, read Oct 2, 2026 |
| PATLive | $49 a month with no included minutes (pay as you go); $99 a month for 50 minutes, up to $6,899 for 5,000. Plus taxes and fees. Source, read Oct 7, 2026 | Per receptionist minute: $2.99 a minute on pay as you go; past a plan's minutes, $2.29 down to $1.49 a minute. No charge for after-call notes or wrap-up. Source, read Oct 7, 2026 | Self-serve: “Start free trial” on each plan, free for 14 days; “Speak with Sales” is also offered. Source, read Oct 7, 2026 | Live people; it says it “does not use AI to answer calls”. Source, read Oct 7, 2026 |
| Alert Communications | Not published on the page linked Source, read Oct 7, 2026 | Not published on the page linked Source, read Oct 7, 2026 | Not self-serve on its pricing page: each service’s “get started” opens its contact page; “Contact us to learn more”. Its services: call answering, intake, and “Contract & Retainer Services”. Source, read Oct 7, 2026 | Not published on the page linked Source, read Oct 7, 2026 |
| Abby Connect | $165 a month for 50 Abby Minutes, $329 for 100, $599 for 200, $1,380 for 500; Enterprise plans are custom. Source, read Oct 7, 2026 | Per Abby Minute: a human minute is 1 Abby Minute, an AI minute half of one; minutes past the plan are billed at the plan’s Abby Minute rate, which this page does not publish in dollars. Source, read Oct 7, 2026 | Self-serve: “Start free trial” on each plan, a free trial on every plan (length not stated) and no setup fee; Enterprise is “Contact us”. Source, read Oct 7, 2026 | Live people, AI, or a mix of both chosen per call type. Source, read Oct 7, 2026 |
| Posh | Not published on the page linked Source, read Oct 9, 2026 | Not published on the page linked Source, read Oct 9, 2026 | Not published on the page linked Source, read Oct 9, 2026 | Not published on the page linked Source, read Oct 9, 2026 |
| AnswerConnect | Not published on the page linked Source, read Oct 9, 2026 | Not published on the page linked Source, read Oct 9, 2026 | Not published on the page linked Source, read Oct 9, 2026 | Not published on the page linked Source, read Oct 9, 2026 |
| Solvea | Not published on the page linked Source, read Oct 9, 2026 | Not published on the page linked Source, read Oct 9, 2026 | Not published on the page linked Source, read Oct 9, 2026 | Not published on the page linked Source, read Oct 9, 2026 |
| Dapta | Not published on the page linked Source, read Oct 9, 2026 | Not published on the page linked Source, read Oct 9, 2026 | Not published on the page linked Source, read Oct 9, 2026 | Not published on the page linked Source, read Oct 9, 2026 |
| Upfirst | Not published on the page linked Source, read Oct 9, 2026 | Not published on the page linked Source, read Oct 9, 2026 | Not published on the page linked Source, read Oct 9, 2026 | Not published on the page linked Source, read Oct 9, 2026 |
| Dialzara | Not published on the page linked Source, read Oct 9, 2026 | Not published on the page linked Source, read Oct 9, 2026 | Not published on the page linked Source, read Oct 9, 2026 | Not published on the page linked Source, read Oct 9, 2026 |
| Lexidesk | Not published on the page linked Source, read Oct 10, 2026 | Not published on the page linked Source, read Oct 10, 2026 | Not published on the page linked Source, read Oct 10, 2026 | Not published on the page linked Source, read Oct 10, 2026 |
| Gabbyville | Not published on the page linked Source, read Oct 10, 2026 | Not published on the page linked Source, read Oct 10, 2026 | Not published on the page linked Source, read Oct 10, 2026 | Not published on the page linked Source, read Oct 10, 2026 |
| Quo (Sona) | Not published on the page linked Source, read Oct 10, 2026 | Not published on the page linked Source, read Oct 10, 2026 | Not published on the page linked Source, read Oct 10, 2026 | Not published on the page linked Source, read Oct 10, 2026 |
| Trillet | Not published on the page linked Source, read Oct 10, 2026 | Not published on the page linked Source, read Oct 10, 2026 | Not published on the page linked Source, read Oct 10, 2026 | Not published on the page linked Source, read Oct 10, 2026 |
| NextPhone | $199 a month, flat, with unlimited calls. Source, read Oct 2, 2026 | None: no per-minute charges and no per-call fees. Source, read Oct 2, 2026 | Self-serve: “Get Started Free”, with a 7-day free trial; a call or demo can also be booked. Source, read Oct 2, 2026 | AI. Source, read Oct 2, 2026 |
| Intake Gateway | $149 a month. Our pricing | None: every answered call is included, and fair use is a guide of up to 100 answered calls a month for one firm’s own line, not a cap. Our pricing | No: self-serve. There is no sales or setup call. Our pricing | AI. Our pricing |
Intake Gateway: one plan, $149 a month, every answered call included. Fair use is a guide of up to 100 answered calls a month for one firm’s own line, not a cap: nothing meters your calls or cuts them off at that number. If you are consistently and substantially above it, we may get in touch to agree terms that fit that volume, and if we cannot agree any, the Terms of Service let either side end the plan.
Prices in US dollars a month, as each vendor publishes them, read on the vendor’s own page linked beside each fact on the date shown. “Not published on the page linked” means that page did not state it; the vendor may state it elsewhere. “Not confirmed” means the fact is past its monthly re-read. We re-read every source monthly and correct or remove a fact we can no longer confirm. A vendor who finds a fact out of date can write to contact@intakegateway.com.
Names are their owners’ trademarks; no affiliation.
What each column holds
- Published price: The monthly figure the vendor states on the page linked in its cell, in US dollars.
- Per-call or per-minute charges: Whether calls or minutes past an allowance cost extra, and so how many calls the price covers.
- Setup call: Whether signing up is self-serve, and any free trial the page states.
- AI or human: Whether an AI or a person picks up the call.
Questions
What firms ask when they compare AI receptionist prices.
Does any of these cost less than Intake Gateway?
Price is not the reason to pick us. Smith.ai’s free plan costs less than our $149 a month for a firm with few calls; NextPhone, at $199 a month, costs more.
Is there a free trial?
First month free: a 30-day free trial, every answered call included, one trial per firm. Card on file, nothing charged before day 31.
Is there a call limit?
No. Every answered call is included and nothing is billed per call. Fair use is a guide of up to 100 answered calls a month for one firm’s own line, not a cap: nothing meters your calls or cuts them off at that number. If you are consistently and substantially above it, we may get in touch to agree terms that fit that volume, and if we cannot agree any, the Terms of Service let either side end the plan.
Is there a contract, or a setup fee?
Neither. Plans are month to month. You cancel from the billing page in your account; if you cannot reach it, one email to the address in the footer does the same thing, and nobody has to approve it. Either way it takes effect at the end of the period you have paid for, and the agent keeps answering until then, so there is never a gap in coverage you did not ask for.
Do callers know it is an AI?
Every call opens with a fixed disclosure, sent as the agent’s opening line rather than composed on the call: the caller is speaking with an AI assistant and not an attorney, the call is recorded and transcribed, staying on the line is consent, and anyone who would rather not be recorded can hang up.
Which firms does Intake Gateway fit?
A solo or small personal-injury, workers’ comp, criminal defense or family law firm that cannot afford to miss a call. It is an AI intake agent for personal injury, workers’ comp, criminal defense and family law firms, so it does not fit a firm that wants a person on the phone or intake for other practice areas.
First month free, then $149 a month
- Confirm your email: we send a link that signs you in, no password.
- Set up your agent: tell us about your firm, then call your number and hear it.
- Forward your calls to your number and add a card at checkout; the first month is free.
Try it on your own line
One plan, $149 a month, every answered call included. First month free: a 30-day free trial, every answered call included, one trial per firm. Card on file, nothing charged before day 31.